VRA SWEEPS SIX AWARDS AT 2022 SSI AWRDS NIGHT

By: Michael Danso, CA&ER, Accra

The Volta River Authority's home-grown sustainability and social support activities for its multi-stakeholder population, received greater focus last Friday when the Authority meritoriously swept home six awards at the 6th edition of the Sustainability and Social Investment (SSI) Awards night.

VRA was crowned the overall best in the categories of: **Best WASH Initiative Award of** the Year, Net Zero Carbon Strategy of the Year, Best Company in Climate Change Mitigation Projects, SDG Pioneer of the Year and SSI Project of the Year (Environment).

The Chief Executive, Mr. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa was named the *Climate Change Leadership Award* winner on the night which was interspersed with dinner, music, and comedy.

The 6th edition of the SSI Awards which was held at the Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City was put together to recognise and honour over 40 organisations and individuals across the country that demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Sustainability, and promoted sustainability benchmark in the the country.

The SSI Awards which was held under the theme 'Leading the Sustainability Transition through Private-Public Partnerships and Collaborations', was supported by VRA, the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection, Ghana Investment Promotion Centre (GIPC), National Road Safety Authority (NRSC) and the Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources.

VRA was represented by Director, Strategic Projects & New Business, Ing. Alfred Sackeyfio, Manager, Corporate Commutations and Branding, Mrs. Tandy Chothia, Ing. Geoffrey Kuuku Barnes, Manager, Maintenance, TTPS, Mr. Michael Danso, Information/Publicity Officer, Corporate Communications and Branding and Ms. Narki Mary Ayerh, Community Relations Assistant.



Professor George Gyan-Baffour addressing the gathering on behalf of the Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia



A section of the gathering.



Ing. Alfred Sackeyfio



Mrs. Tandy Chothia



Ing. Kuuku Barnes





Mr. Michael Danso



Ms. Narki Ayerh



















